Wednesday, August 13, 2014

Don't miss it!

Psst!

Penguin (@PenguinPbk) will be hosting a killer Twitter chat between two wonderfully talented British suspense/mystery authors—Sarah Hilary (@sarah_hilary) and Alex Marwood (@AlexMarwood1)—which will take place on Wednesday, August 20th from 12-1 pm EST, under #killerfiction. Don’t miss your chance to ask questions to these up-and-coming authors in the genre!


PRAISE FOR SOMEONE ELSE’S SKIN

“Award-winning short story writer Sarah Hilary has crafted a tight, nasty mystery… gripping and full of graphic details about the lives and psychology of her characters, both abusers and their victims.”
—Eileen Brady, Mystery Scene Magazine

“If this first entry is anything to go by, Hilary's sense of plot and subtle character building will make the DI Marnie Rome series one to watch.”
Shelf-Awareness

“Promising…[Hilary] skillfully interweaves multiple viewpoints on the way to the mystery’s unsettling conclusion.”
Publishers Weekly

“Fans of Val McDermid and Ian Rankin will love this tremendous debut. Someone Else’s Skin puts Sarah Hilary and DI Marnie Rome squarely on the map. A gripping, disturbing examination of domestic violence with gravitas in spades, this book haunts you well after its finish.
—Julia Spencer-Fleming, New York Times & USA Today bestselling author of Through the Evil Days


ADVANCE PRAISE FOR THE KILLER NEXT DOOR

“If you read Alex Marwood's The Wicked Girls, her new one—THE KILLER NEXT DOOR—is even better. Scary as hell. Great characters.”
—Stephen King

“A taut, fascinating tale that's not for the weak of stomach… [Alex Marwood] not only creates a cast of memorable characters, but also ratchets up the suspense, leaving readers to dread what might be around the next corner. Many writers shine at characterization or at creating tension; the trick is in successfully combining the two. In this case, readers will care what happens to Collette and the rest of the boarders while simultaneously waiting for the literary axe to fall. Marwood…proves she's got staying power in this addictive tale.”
Kirkus, Starred Review

“If the author’s first book explored how poverty and abuse can make monsters of men, then this new novel will have readers peering suspiciously at the neighbors and wondering just what’s behind their closed doors. This tightly plotted story grabs readers from the opening paragraphs and will keep them up far too late at night. Highly recommended for fans of Laura Lippman, Tana French, and Gillian Flynn.”
Library Journal, Starred Review

No comments: